RSS Feed
World Fatasy Convention
Guests   •    Theme   •    How To Join   •    Attending Members   •    Exhibitions & Events   •    Hotel and Vicinity   •    Banquet
World Fantasy Award Ballot

  Those Across the River, Christopher Buehlman (Ace)
  11/22/63, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton as 11.22.63)
  A Dance with Dragons, George R.R. Martin (Bantam; Harper Voyager UK)
  Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)
  Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)

  "Near Zennor", Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)
  "A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong", K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)
  "Alice Through the Plastic Sheet", Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)
  "Rose Street Attractors", Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight)
  Silently and Very Fast, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA Press; Clarkesworld)

Short Fiction
  "X for Demetrious", Steve Duffy (Blood and Other Cravings)
  "Younger Women", Karen Joy Fowler (Subterranean Summer 2011)
  "The Paper Menagerie", Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)
  "A Journey of Only Two Paces", Tim Powers (The Bible Repairman and Other Stories)
  "The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees", E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 4/11)

  Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher Books)
  The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Harper Voyager US)
  The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)
  Gutshot, Conrad Williams, ed. (PS Publishing)

  Bluegrass Symphony, Lisa L. Hannett (Ticonderoga)
  Two Worlds and In Between, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean Press)
  After the Apocalypse, Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer)
  Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, Reggie Oliver (Tartarus)
  The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, Tim Powers (Tachyon/Subterranean Press)

  John Coulthart
  Julie Dillon
  Jon Foster
  Kathleen Jennings
  John Picacio

Special Award Professional
  John Joseph Adams, for editing - anthology and magazine
  Jo Fletcher, for editing - Jo Fletcher Books
  Eric Lane, for publishing in translation - Dedalus books
  Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
  Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award Non-Professional
  Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
  Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
  Mark Valentine, for Wormwood

2012 World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Awards

The convention is pleased to announce that the 2012 World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to Alan Garner and George R.R. Martin.

For more information...

The Life Achievement Award can only be presented once to a single individual. At previous conventions including the one held in Columbus, OH in 2010, Life Achievement Awards have been presented to:
  Forrest J. Ackerman   Lloyd Alexander   Ellen Asher   Betty Ballantine
  Everett F. Bleiler   Robert Bloch   Jorge Luis Borges   Ray Bradbury
  Marion Zimmer Bradley   Italo Calvino   Edd Cartier   Hugh B. Cave
  John Crowley   Roald Dahl   Avram Davidson   L. Sprague de Camp
  Leo & Diane Dillon   Tom Doherty   Harlan Ellison   Carol Emshwiller
  Stephen Fabian   Philip José Farmer   Edward L. Ferman   Jack Finney
  Frank Frazetta   Donald M. Grant   Diana Wynne Jones   Stephen King
  R.A. Lafferty   Madeleine L'Engle   Ursula K. Le Guin   Fritz Leiber
  Frank Belknap Long   Brian Lumley   Richard Matheson   Patricia McKillip
  Michael Moorcock   C.L. Moore   Andre Norton   Terry Pratchett
  E. Hoffmann Price   Ray Russell   George Scithers   Peter Straub
  Theodore Sturgeon   Jack Vance   Evangeline Walton   Donald Wandrei
  Manly Wade Wellman   Jack Williamson   Gahan Wilson   Gene Wolfe
  Jane Yolen      

Designed by Gahan Wilson

All registered members of the 2010 (in Columbus, OH) and the 2011 World Fantasy Convention (in San Diego, CA) and the members of this convention in Canada are eligible to vote before the deadline. Once the ballot form has been released, all nominated material must have been published in 2011 or have a 2011 cover date. Only living persons may be nominated. When listing stories or other material that may not be familiar to all the judges, please include pertinent information such as author, editor, publisher, magazine name and date, etc.

Nominations and Judges
You may nominate up to five items in each category, in no particular order. You don't have to nominate items in every category but you must nominate in more than one. The items are not point-rated. The two items receiving the most nominations (except for those ineligible) will be placed on the final ballot. The remainder are added by the judges.

The 2012 World Fantasy Awards judges are:
John Berlyne  • James P. Blaylock  • Stephen Gallagher  • Mary Kay Kare  • Jacques Post

The awards will be presented at the World Fantasy Convention Banquet.

There are nine award categories:
 NOVELLA - 10,000 to 40,000 words
 SHORT FICTION - under 10,000 words
 ANTHOLOGY - multiple authors - original or reprint - single or multiple editors
 COLLECTION - single author - original or reprint - single or multiple editors

   •   Committee   •       •   Progress Reports   •       •   How To Join   •   
The World Fantasy Convention logo

Copyright © 2010–2014 The Copper Cylinder Arts and Letters Association   •   All Rights Reserved Worldwide   •   Designed and Maintained by Rodger Turner for Arctera Consulting